Keeping On Track-Chapter 2 of 10

PLATFORM 3 FOR THE 00:10 TRAIN TO LONDON GATWICK AIPORT,CALLING AT: BURGESS HILL, HAYWARDS HEATH, THREE BRIDGES AND GATWICK AIRPORT. PLATFORM 3 FOR THE GATWICK EXPRESS TO LONDON GATWICK AIRPORT.

Ben

I haven’t stopped running. I wasn’t even sure I had enough money for the train until I got there. I looked at the ticket machine with all these destinations. Shit. Now what? Where do I want to go? Where shall I go? Is there anywhere out there for me? Crap, crap, crap. I hear the overhead and click a random one without looking. Good job I had those savings from my paper rounds. I buy, print my tickets and run for the train.

Lily

I hear the announcement as I stumble onto the platform. I wish Daniel didn’t live so far away. 00:00. That magical time passes. Mum always made me believe that if you make a wish on midnight it’ll come true. There’s no such thing, I’ve been trying for years. I let the moment sink over me as I catch my breath and look towards the ticket machines. I had come to Brighton for clubbing, Daniel had insisted on not getting tickets back until we knew when. Now I know why. I see every machine being used, unbelievable. A boy about my age with a huge black rugsack takes off towards his train leaving one free. Perfect.

Ben

I’m almost at the nearest carriage to the barriers when I turn to look back for a split second. In that split second I spot her arguing with a guard. What the hell are you doing? My selfish self asks me. I have no idea. I have no idea.

Lily

“She’s with me” A voice comes from about a head higher than my own. What the…I look up and see  Rugsack Boy on the other side of the ticket barriers.

Leave a Reply

